So this is what it feels like

Sometimes you have to take a leap of faith. Jump outside your comfort zone. And change your life.
That’s what I did this past year. As someone who finds it hard to leave her room and her house most days I packed up and moved to Virginia to go to school.
Different country, opposite side of the continent, where I literally knew no one.
Holy Shiz batman.
I guess that’s why this video hit me so hard. Because on a smaller scale I relate to this.
(Gist of the video. Girl who suffers from anxiety disorder and depression sings on Americas Got Talent and KILLS IT)
I fight every day to get up, to be social, to choke down my fears and be brave. Every decision I am choking down a panic attack, and that’s not even the big stuff, that’s whether I can spend $5 to buy lipstick at the drug store. The big decisions leave me paralyzed for weeks.

america’s got talent- Halleluia

So to see her bravery and her success, it made me bawl my eyes out, but it also gave me courage.
I applaud for putting herself in such a nerve-wracking situation.
And I applaud her for enduring the panic attacks it surely must have taken to get her to that point.
Watching this my anxiety got so bad, feeling her fear.
But I am proud of who I am.
Of those out there raising awareness.
And of those brave enough to face the world and say this is who I am.
Right here, this is who I am.
This is my small step of bravery.
Hallelujah.

Leave a comment